AuthorSpotlight- Interview with Mystery Writer Lisa Betz and Her Upcoming Book- Death and a Crocodile

Tell us about yourself and how we can connect with you.

I’m an engineer-turned-mystery-author, history buff, and foodie. In addition to creating first-century Roman crime novels, I blog about living with authenticity and purpose at https://lisaebetz.com/recent-blog-posts-from-live-intentionally/

Find my social media links at Linktree             https://linktr.ee/LisaEBetz

Website               https://LisaEBetz.com

What would you like to promote? (Add links, description, and a photo!)

My debut historical mystery, Death and a Crocodile, which releases February 9, 2021.

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3l1Ax6O

Book synopsis:

In Ancient Rome, sensible young ladies don’t investigate crimes, but Livia Aemilia doesn’t let stuffy conventions stand in her way. When her father is murdered, she and her spunky maidservant set out to identify the killer. Will their meddling expose the culprit or lead them into mortal danger?

An amusing historical mystery set in first-century Rome, featuring a feisty amateur sleuth, a cast of eccentric characters, a glimpse of the early church, and an unrepentant, sausage-snatching cat

What does success look like to you?

I’m a debut novelist, so my main goal is getting discovered by readers who will enjoy my book. Success is finding out that readers I’ve never met like my book. Book sales are nice, too.

What is your favorite movie that was based on a book?

I have enjoyed plenty of book adaptations. One favorite is The Eagle. It was based on a book by Rosemary Sutcliff that I’d loved as a child and it released right around my birthday. Watching it was like a birthday present. Like most adaptations, the movie strayed from the original plot, but I think it did a good job of capturing the relationship arc between the Roman ex-centurion and his slave as they become fast friends.

What genre do you write in?

I have always loved reading historical fiction and being drawn into another time and place. In particular I love historical action stories and mysteries, so that’s what I write.

How did you get started with writing?

I have a degree in engineering, so obviously I didn’t plan on becoming an author. On a whim, I took a correspondence course on writing (this was in the dark ages before webinars) and I got hooked on creative writing. I dabbled with it for years, but I didn’t get serious about finishing a novel until my youngest son went off to college. Three “practice novels” later, I have a published book.

What is your favorite thing about being a blogger, writer, or author?

I love getting feedback from readers who tell me how my words have helped or encouraged them. I blog about living with authenticity and purpose, and the hours of writing are worth it when someone comments and lets me know how something I said made a difference in their day. Although my novel is not self-help-ish like my blog, I hope it encourages readers to step out of their comfort zones and stretch themselves.

What is your favorite comfort food?

A gooey, chocolate brownie, fresh from the oven.

If you could learn how to make any food what would it be?

Must cakes. Since I love food, it’s one of the things I research for my books. Must is crushed grape pulp, which was used as a sweetener. One of my characters is particularly fond of must cakes, so naturally I’ve tried to make them. My first attempt was dense and was more savory than sweet, strongly flavored with cumin and fresh bay leaves. I imagine that the must cakes in my novel are sweeter, lighter, and perfect for dessert or afternoon nibbling with friends.

What do you like to do for fun?

I enjoy cooking and baking. I’m the official dessert maker for all our family gatherings. Now that I’m avoiding gluten baking has become more of a challenge, but I’m learning what works and what doesn’t.

How did you get published?

A series of fortunate events. I started writing a monthly column for Almost an Author, which led an opportunity to sign with my agent, Cyle Young. One piece of advice he gave me was to enter writing contests, so I entered my manuscript in the ACFW Genesis contest for unpublished writers. My manuscript was a finalist, and shortly after that I received a publishing contract.

What helps you to stay motivated and keep writing?

Critique groups. I need to keep up with my writing so I have something to submit each time. Also the encouragement I’ve received from professionals when I’ve had meetings with them at conferences. When an author or agent I respect gives me positive feedback, it means a lot and helps me believe in myself enough to get through the rough patches.

What projects are you working on right now?

I am finishing up the second Livia mystery and hope to get beta reader feedback soon. I’m also and toying with a novella, and the third mystery is semi-plotted.

Thank you Lisa for a teriffic intervirew! Be sure to check out her blog and upcopming book!

If you are a fellow writer, author, or blogger and want to be featured with your own interview on this blog go to https://noshwithchefjulie.com/contact/

To read more author interviews click here https://noshwithchefjulie.com/category/author-interviews/

Leave a comment